Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Get the Flash Player to see this rotator.
Account Status
Only members of the ABS CO have log in access. If you need to contact the Central Office use the mail icon top of the site.
Personal tools

Animal Behavior Society Research Grants

The Animal Behavior Society supports research in the behavioral sciences through grants in two broad classes, listed below. Applicants apply via a single application process. Three grant categories are for support of graduate student research, and one, the Developing Nations Research Grant may support both students as well as established professionals. Details for each grant are given below.

Student Research Grants for 2013-2014 are now Closed. They will reopen in the Fall of 2014

 Student Research Grants


Student research grants range from US$ 500 to $ 2000 each, depending on category of the grant and evaluations. Applicants must be enrolled in graduate programs and must be active members of the Animal Behavior Society (or in the case of the Cetacean Behavior & Conservation grant, members of the Association for the Study of Animal Behavior may also apply. Contact the ABS Central Office). Applicants apply via a single application process, usually at the end of the year. All eligible applicants will be considered for the following grants: the general ABS Student Research Grant including the Barlow Award for the top reviewed research grant, , E.O. Wilson Conservation Award, Amy R. Samuels Cetacean Behavior & Conservation Grant. Applicants may receive only one of these grants in a lifetime.

George W. Barlow Award

The George W. Barlow Award's purpose is to encourage excellence in graduate student research in the field of animal behavior. The Barlow Award will be given annually to one top-ranked proposal in the Student Research Grant cycle in accordance with the most recent ABS Student Research Grant competition rules.

E. O. Wilson Conservation Award

The Edward O. Wilson Conservation Award seeks to encourage graduate students of animal behavior to participate in meaningful conservation-related research. This single award of up to US $2000 is given in recognition of a research proposal considered meritorious for its integration of behavior and conservation. E. O. Wilson, professor at Harvard University, who in 2002 received the ABS Distinguished Animal Behaviorist Award, is one of the world's most eminent scientists and pioneers in biodiversity conservation.

More about E.O. Wilson from his Biodiversity Foundation

The Amy R. Samuels Cetacean Behavior and Conservation (CBC) Award

The Amy R. Samuels Cetacean Behavior and Conservation Grant was established to provide financial support for graduate students studying cetacean behavior and/or cetacean conservation in natural environments. The goal of the award is to encourage original and significant research that focuses on endangered populations or species, or on critically important problems in cetacean behavioral biology. A maximum of two awards of a maximum of US $2000 each will be made to successful applicants. The award must be used for field research; it cannot be used for laboratory research. The award shall be given only if there are proposals deemed worthy by the judges in any given year. Thus, there may be years in which no award is made.

Read more about Amy R. Samuels.

David Tuber Award  

The David Tuber award was created to promote excellence in research into Applied Animal Behavior.

 Named in honor of David S Tuber (1942-1995) this award was created by Victoria L. Voith & Peter L. Borchelt, editors of the book "Readings in Companion Animal Behaviour"  for his seminal contribution to the field of clinical animal behavior. David S Tuber was one of the first behaviorist to apply the principles of animal behavior to the behavioral problems of companion animals.